

Council

Monday, 9 May 2022

Subject: Appointment Of Committees for the 2022/23 Civic Year

Report by: Monitoring Officer

Contact Officer: Katie Storr

Democratic Services & Elections Team Manager

katie.storr@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by

political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the

Council for the 2022/2023.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

- (1) That the rules relating to proportionality be suspended in relation to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee; and
- (2) In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, Members be appointed to serve to the Council's Committees for the 22/23 civic year as set out within this report or provided verbally at the meeting

IMPLICATIONS

Legal:

In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups

Financial: FIN/27/23/SL

None directly arising from this report

Staffing:

None directly arising from this report

Equality and Diversity including Human Rights:

None directly arising from this report

Data Protection Implications:

None directly arising from this report

Climate Related Risks and Opportunities:

None directly arising from this report

Section 17 Crime and Disorder Considerations:

None directly arising from this report

Health Implications:

None directly arising from this report

Title and Location of any Background Papers used in the preparation of this report:

Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub-Committee places – documents available from the Guildhall, Gainsborough (on request).

Risk Assessment:

Call in and Urgency:					
Is the decision one which Rule 14.7 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?					
i.e. is the report exempt from being called in due to urgency (in consultation with C&I chairman)	Yes		No		
Key Decision:					
A matter which affects two or more wards, or has significant financial implications	Yes		No		

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 Section 2 details the wishes expressed by the political groupsⁱ.

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Chief Officer Employment Committee (9 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Jackie Brockway
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Diana Rodgers
Councillor Anne Welburn
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

2.2 Corporate Policy and Resources Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Ian Fleetwood
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor John McNeill
Councillor Tom Regis
Councillor Jeff Summers
Councillor Bob Waller
Councillor Anne Welburn
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

2.3 Governance and Audit Committee (7 Members)

Councillor Jackie Brockway	
Councillor Tracey Coulson	
Councillor Chris Darcel	
Councillor Caralyne Grimble	
Councillor John McNeill	
Councillor	
Councillor	

2.4 Licensing Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Tim Davies
Councillor Caralyne Grimble
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor Angela Lawrence
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Peter Morris
Councillor Diana Rodgers
Councillor Jeff Summers
Councillor

2.5 Regulatory Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Tim Davies
Councillor Caralyne Grimble
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor Angela Lawrence
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Peter Morris
Councillor Diana Rodgers
Councillor Jeff Summers
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

2.6 Planning Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Ian Fleetwood
Councillor Cherie Hill
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Peter Morris
Councillor Roger Patterson
Councillor Jeff Summers
Councillor Bob Waller
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

Prosperous Communities Committee (14 Members)
Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Tracey Coulson
Councillor Chris Darcel
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Jane Ellis
Councillor Steve England
Councillor John McNeill
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Roger Patterson
Councillor

3. Suspension of Political Balance

2.7

The Council can, by way of a separate vote, agree to not apply the provisions of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 to a Committee or Committees. Requests have been received from both Group Leaders that the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be not politically balanced.

The proposed unbalanced Committee Membership is set out below.

3.1 Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members) -

Councillor Tim Davies
Councillor Caralyne Grimble.
Councillor Cherie Hill
Councillor Angela Lawrence
Councillor Roger Patterson
Councillor Diana Rodgers
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor
Councillor

Should this proposal not be unanimously supported the Committee will have to be balanced and additional nominations will be required.

ⁱ Blank lines are the number spaces afforded to the Liberal Democrat Group